Get Down With Cake.

Reader/Eater

My cake batter milkshake brings all the boys to the yard, and now, because of Netflix’s The Get Down, in my imagination, they’re all dancing to proto hip-hop and disco.

Have you seen it? It takes place in the Bronx in the 1970s, and it’s amazing. Granted, it’s Baz Luhrmann, so, it had the ability to be great, but I was worried. Baz Luhrmann is as white as snow. This show is very much a show about people of color. The representational aspect concerned me, but, damn. So good.

I have no idea what it’s like to be a black person, and I certainly have no idea what it would’ve been like to be a black kid in the seventies in the Bronx, but I understand their passion. Their NEED to express themselves through words and notes. We can all remember what if felt like to be absorbed in our own youth. The drowning in the milieu of your time. It was terrifying and exhilarating all at once.

What The Get Down does best, though, is music. It’s the heartbeat of the show, and it’s amazing. The sound and the choreography combine to totally arrest the viewer, and suspend them in a state of excited rapture. From the background music to the individual numbers, it’s all perfect.

And, can we just for a minute talk about WARDROBE?! A: this show makes me realize that I DEFINITELY NEED A PAIR OF FLARES, and B: the seventies were fly as fuck. Ok, the boyfriend in his tighty whities on the sofa? I could do without him. Tighty whities are not good for anyone. Ever. The dresses would require me to duct tape the hell out of Lucy and Ethyl (my boobs–yes, they’re named), and, I would need so much lotion–that has shimmer in it. Why did shimmer lotion fall out of fashion?

I LOOKED AMAZING IN SHIMMER LOTION AND DELIA’S CLOTHES. Ok, that may be revisionist history. But, the point is that I THOUGHT I looked amazing at the time, and I am pretty sure I’d look super in some gold lame with shimmer lotion. Granted, silver looks better on me, but I don’t want to be mistaken for the disco ball instead of a disco dancer, and I’d be stuck spinning in a circle all night.

I am not that flexible or talented.

And while the show has a definite dark undercurrent of drugs and violence–or overt theme–whatever, the show is about kids. High schoolers. So, in spite of all the fancy booze with umbrellas (which also seems to have gone the way of the shimmer lotion) I couldn’t make a cocktail to pair with this show.

That’s how we ended up with the cake batter milkshake. Everyone, EVERYONE, loves a birthday cake. Cake batter is one of those flavors that every place sells, but few places get right. My cake batter milkshake may have a few more ingredients than your typical shake, but I promise you, each ingredient is worth it to make the cake batter milkshake SING. Also, I’ll turn my head if you want to add some vanilla vodka.


The perfect cake batter milkshake to sip while watching The Get Down on @Netflix #streamteam

Click To Tweet


Cake Batter Milkshake

Cake Batter Milkshake

Cake Batter Milkshake

<div

class = ‘save-button mpp-button’

title = ‘Save Recipe to Mealplannerpro.com’

alt = ‘Save Recipe to Mealplannerpro.com’

href = ‘http://readereater.mealplannerpro.com/clipper/direct&#8217;

onclick=”window.open(‘http://readereater.mealplannerpro.com/clipper/direct?url=&#8217; + window.location.href); return false;”

> Save Recipe

<div

class = ‘butn-link mpp-button’

title = ‘Print this recipe’

onclick = ‘zlrPrint( “mpprecipe-container-87”, “http://readereater.com/wp-content/plugins/meal-planner-pro/&#8221;, “mpprecipe-std”, “” ); return false’

>

Print Recipe

div#mpp-buttons { float:right; margin-top: 10px; }

.mpp-button { display:inline-block; }

What Goes In?

  • 2 large scoops FRENCH vanilla ice cream
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tbsp vanilla syrup (I use Bosco)
  • 1 tbsp malted milk powder
  • few drops almond extract
  • few drops vanilla extract
  • optional
  • whipped cream
  • cherries
  • sprinkles

Avengers, Assemble!

  1. blend everything together save the whipped cream, sprinkles, and cherry!

http://readereater.com/2016/08/25/cake-batter-milkshake/

Calories

19 cal

Fat

1 g

Carbs

1 g

Protein

1 g


Click Here For Full Nutrition, Exchanges, and My Plate Info