Delicious Detox

Reader/Eater

It’s no secret I love sweets. Look to the right of this blog post. I have an entire section dedicated to dessert recipes. It’s also no secret I’m completely addicted to sugar.

This is how I look dancing with sugar.

this is more accurate.

For most people, sugar is something they can handle in small doses. This used to be me as well. However, when stresses in my life started amping up, so did my sugar cravings.

Last week, I found myself hiding in room after the kids went to bed dipping vegan graham crackers in vanilla soy milk at 10:30pm. Not quite rock bottom. Compared to a lot of crap, it’s rather tame. However, I was fully aware I wasn’t hungry. I didn’t need to eat. I’d had plenty earlier in the day. But the siren’s call of the graham cracker box sent me hurdling overboard into the rocky depths of WHAT THE FRESH HELL AM I DOING?!

I knew I was completely beholden to a substance that is EVERYWHERE. It’s in practically everything that you buy if you don’t make it yourself.  Breads, cereals, MOTHER LOVING DEHYDRATED VEGETABLE CHIPS. (Why do snappea crisps and beet chips NEED SUGAR?!?)

The next day, I looked at my Facebook feed where I’d posted about it, and I cried. I sat on my sofa and cried. I’ve tried to kick it so many times and I just fail. I just, fail. I gave up cheese and meat and eggs, but I can’t give up sugar? What the hell is wrong with me? I can read 600 pages a day. Write thousands of words. Go to Crossfit. Run tens of miles. Get ALL the degrees. But I can’t do this one thing. I felt like a failure.

And sugar HATES me. I love sugar and it hates me. It makes my heart race. It makes my stomach hurt.

So why do I still do it? Well, Dr Robert Lustig, esteemed pediatric endocrinologist, author of:

Featured in the explosive documentary:

(Available on Netflix)

So I’m detoxing. It’s awful. It’s not a cleanse. Cleanses are (in my opinion, and that of The Mayo Clinic, Harvard, Columbia) bullshit. Detox is not. Think about it: if sugar is as addictive as is purported (and let’s face it, it fucking is) we should treat it as such. What do we do when we quit smoking, or drinking, or opiates? We detox. We cut it out and our bodies go through a process.

Sugar Detox

It is sucking my life. It’s also so hard. I had a bowl of shredded wheat today–purely out of habit–I knew I was detoxing, but because it is such an ingrained habit, it didn’t cross my mind until my heart started racing, that I wanted to cut this shit out.

And I cried. Again. I think NOTHING of feeding this to my kids day after day. I feel like I’m not only failing myself, but failing them. My daughter is a sugar fiend. She’s like me. She’s not someone who can have “just a little.” She’s a five year old. She’s going to do things for pleasure alone. Especially eating. Vanilla ice cream is pleasurable. Frosted wheat is pleasurable. Cookies are pleasurable.

But damnit. I know better.

I just watched The Kids Menu on Netflix, and I was even more inspired to change not only my life, but her life as well. My son? He likes heat. Spice. Fire. I’m not as concerned. But my Peanut. She’s just like me.

After watching this fascinating documentary–I went to my tribe. (I almost wrote Tribble–which would be problematic.)

My tribe? They get me. (not just my Eastern European Moravian Tribe!) My Momma tribe. My health tribe. Whether they’re woowoo or conventional or somewhere in between. I went to see what they said.

I found this.

And conviction. More of it. So what do I do about pleasure?

I read. I research. I COOK. I am the fecking Reader Eater.

And I made The Peanut happy. With a DELICIOUS DETOX smoothie. Full of ingredients that are good for you in more ways than one. I did it.

How do you have a delicious detox? You make sure the ingredients are whole, healthy, and ripe.  I add turmeric and cinnamon not only for flavor, but also for their properties that promote health.

Delicious Detox Smoothie

morning mayhem detox smoothie


Helping you with a delicious detox, because breaking up with sugar SUCKS. #Fitfluential #detox #vegan

Click To Tweet


morning mayhem detox smoothie

Morning Mayhem Detox Smoothie

by Cat Bowen

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: blend a minute

Keywords: blender beverage breakfast dessert vegan

// <![CDATA[

document.write(”);

// ]]>

Ingredients (2 smoothies)

  • 1 cup fresh RIPE mango
  • 1 RIPE banana
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 cup frozen raspberries
  • 3-4 handfuls fresh spinach or mixed greens
  • 1/3 english cucumber, chopped
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

Instructions

throw everything in a blender

blend.

Powered by Recipage

Though Netflix sponsored these posts, all opinions and recipes are my own.
Though Netflix sponsored these posts, all opinions and recipes are my own.

Reader/Eater

Leave a Reply

