Am I Grace or Am I Frankie?

Reader Eater

I feel the need for renewal.

I know that’s weird, as I just posted about depression a few weeks ago, but I need to lay out a plan.

I feel like complete dreck.

I’m having too much beer, not blogging enough, not running enough, not lifting enough weights. It makes me feel like crap.

I’m in a transition point in my life, and I feel the need to knuckle-down and let go of shit.

Ok, I should let go of *most* shit. I’m still going to be very angry if Trump gets elected, because, NO. But, other than that? I need to move the hell on and be grateful for the life I was given. And that means treating myself, and my body better. If my body is a temple, I’ve clearly been an atheist too long.

My blog is books and food. That’s not going to change. But when I re-branded, I said I would still have a few posts/week on personal wellness, and I haven’t. Because I haven’t BEEN WELL. And that’s stupid. I know what it’s like to hate everything about your body and have it rebel because I’m treating it like shit, and I’m doing it again.

Mother hell, I sound like a broken record. Should I write a dick joke to make people more comfortable?

So, the treadmill beckons. The weights are calling. My Netflix queue is overflowing with shit just to keep my ass on the hamster wheel that is the treadmill/elliptical.

follow me on snapchat and instagram. keep me accountable. @cattbowen

I’m also going to change my hair color. Maybe RAINBOW!! (Just kidding, that takes, like 6 hours. My adhd couldn’t deal. Hell no. )

I don’t want to be like Grace on Grace and Frankie, and that is what I’ve been doing. I’ve been pissing and moaning about life while trying desperately to stay stolidly in one phase of life when I need to embrace the next phase.

I need Frankie’s sage smudge sticks. I need her optimism. I maybe don’t need a caftan. But they’re just so FORGIVING. I told my friend, Carla, that I’d be the Grace to her Frankie, but, like she said, I’m not 100% Grace. I’m also, again, anti-caftan. I’m pro makeup everywhere, pro-martini (but less), and pro fancy food, (occasionally).

And this is a universal truth:

If Grace and Saul had a lovechild? That’d be me. Or Frankie and Robert.

Think they’d adopt me?

Although, I’m still holding out for Stephen King and Joe Biden second-parent adoption.

Until then?

I’m eating this:

The Perfect Summer Salad.

Because it’s too hot to eat hot food.

perfect summer salad

 

The Perfect Summer Salad

by Cat Bowen

Prep Time: 20 minutes

Cook Time: 20 minutes

Keywords: appetizer entree salad side vegan

// <![CDATA[

document.write(”);

// ]]>

Ingredients (serves 8)

  • 1 bag frozen roasted potatoes (I used Alexia)
  • 2 ripe avocados, cubed
  • 1 12 oz bag of frozen corn
  • 1 pint grape tomatoes
  • 1 small red onion, halved and sliced
  • 12 oz of pressed tofu or fresh mozzarella, cubed
  • 1/3 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 cup pitted green olives
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper

Instructions

cook the potatoes according to package

let cool

in a bowl, whisk oil, mustard, lemon juice, vinegar, salt and pepper

in a large bowl combine all the veg and potatoes

pour dressing over vegetables

toss.

serve.

This will keep in a covered dish for up to 2 days in the refrigerator

Powered by Recipage

Though Netflix sponsored these posts, all opinions and recipes are my own.
Though Netflix sponsored these posts, all opinions and recipes are my own.

Reader Eater

Leave a Reply

