Goddess of Badass.

Reader Eater

Hey guys!!

To be 100% honest, I am wiped. I have been working feverishly on my own novel and my scholarship that my reading schedule hasn’t been as rigorous as I’d like. It’s making me a wee bit starkers, but I’m still managing about 4 books/week.

Though my trips to the gym have been spread out a bit more than I’d like, and that’s making me even crazier. I am not simply one who can abide a lack of physical activity. It just doesn’t mesh. I realize that I’m not taking care of myself as well as I should be, and that doesn’t typically end well for anyone.

But today is the first day of fall. It’s the holiest day on the Hebrew calendar, and it’s Mabon.

Oh, Mabon! How I tried to understand what the fuck you were when I was a teenage make-believe Wiccan. How I loved the movie The Craft. It celebrated all the things I loved best as a tween/teen. Black clothing, dark lipstick, revenge against bitchy girls, the ability to fly, unattractive jewelry, emo journaling. (Wait, I guess this blog is kind of my new emo journal, is it not? OH WELL. You can take the girl out of her walk-in closet filled with black candles and eighth grade best friend, but you can’t take the black candles and nag champa out of the girl–because that smell lingers.

This always ended in personal injury.

(no, seriously. I just ordered some black candles for my Samhain display. Also, white ones. No red, though. That would be tacky. {And they burn pink, not red.}) Also ordered: black gauze, a few candleabrum, skulls, pumpkins, Victorian-style potion bottles, and one stuffed wolf. I’m considering some nifty black light Christmas lights, but haven’t decided. If you’re wondering the look I’m going for…

Pretty much. Yeah.

#squadgoals

I really love Halloween. It’s one holiday that really brings out the best in people. And by that, I mean, they pretend to be an entirely different person for a few hours. In many cases, a zombie is entirely preferable to that asshole in the History department who talks about the “good ol’ days” pre women’s suffrage. Please, please, eat some brains. 

As for my costume? I’m not sure, yet, and I’m a bit worried. I’m vacillating between the goddess Scáthach, and Bridget Bishop. I can get away with a lot warmer clothing as Bridget, and for those of you who may not know, Scáthach is the Celtic/Scottish goddess of slaughter, and Bridget Bishop was the first woman executed in Salem, Massachusetts for witchcraft. I love the idea of a badass bitch who trains warriors for battle even as she’s dropping a few kidlets of her own. Her name actually translates to “she who strikes fear.” Which is pretty damned incredible. And Bridget Bishop? Everyone knows her tale, and it’s tragic. However, it serves to remind us all that in the not-too-distant past, our country failed its most vulnerable. The Salem Witch Trials are often referred to in terms of why feminism was able to gain a foothold in the United States, and it remains a crucial point today.

She Who Strikes Fear vs She Who Was Victim of Fear.

Both badass.

If all else fails, I could go as Cersei Lannister or the Red Queen.

Thoughts!?

Now…

What I’m reading.

On kindle:

     Pucked by Helena Hunting I may DNF. I have an image that perfectly sums up this entire          book thus far. I actually IG’d it.

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.jsThe Old Curiosity Shop Charles Dickens.

On Scribd.

Tomorrow There Will Be Apricots by Jessica Soffer

Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer

On Audible.

Georgia on my Mind by Marie Force

Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan (for the Captain…and me)

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

Now? FOOOOOOOD. I’m on an umami kick. I’m obsessed with the “fifth flavor.” It’s a lot like The Fifth Element only decidedly fewer leather straps. Love, soy sauce, what’s the difference?! I don’t see one! I give you…. Umami Hummus. (cue angels singing.) It’s how I imagine hummus would taste if my favorite sushi bar started in on the dip train. BTW, they SHOULD. Now that I’m a vegan and all. They should read my mind. Umami Hummus


A Japanese Fusion Hummus recipe with oodles of umami. #vegan #fitfluential #whatveganseat

Click To Tweet


 

Umami Hummus by Cat Bowen Prep Time: 5 minutes Keywords: raw appetizer side snack vegan// <![CDATA[ document.write('’); // ]]>

Ingredients (1 large jar)

  • 1, 12 oz bag of frozen edamame, shelled, frozen–thawed.
  • 3 tbsp tahini
  • 4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tsp prepared wasabi
  • juice of one lime
  • 1 tsp mirin
  • 1 tbsp white miso paste
  • 3 tbsp chopped cilantro

Instructions

add all ingredients into a food processor and blend the hell out of it.

Powered by Recipage

Reader Eater

Leave a Reply

