Cultivating a Love of Reading in Kids. Top 5 Ways to Raise a Reader.

Reader Eater

and The Unintentional Nerdification of Mine.

I want to put this out there: before I ever had children, I declared they would have interests separate from mine. They could choose or not choose their own fascinations and whimsy, hobbies and daily activities. I would boldly embrace whatever they chose to love, be it sports or crochet or animal husbandry–I was ready.

Yes, that pug will make a fine husband!

However, apparently environment and eagerness and the total geeking out of the parents has more influence than one might have expected when one was 23-24.

Apparently, osmosis is totally a thing. Unlike fetch, which is still not a thing.

My son, aka “The Captain,” is a 7 year old nerd. Completely and totally, and he came by it honestly. His favorite movie–right now, because it is ever in flux–is Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies. He will enthusiastically reenact entire chunks of it for you.

You may be cool, but you’ll never be “Elf riding a gigantic buck through gold helmets” cool.

His favorite book is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. He loves all things comic books. He hates most sports but loves running around pretending to be a warrior dwarf from Dragon Age. *and I mean RUN. Boy is like greased lightning and pure kinetic energy. Sitting still for long is not happening.

Still pissed I was willing to sacrifice you for Dragon treasure? Guess I deserved that.

Originally, we thought my daughter was going to be much more traditional. To a point, she is. She loves Barbie and princesses and probably wants a pony for her birthday. She’s also obsessed with Wonder Woman and Supergirl and Ironman and her favorite…

She’s also REALLY into steampunk, lately. She is into SP because I am an idiot and recently read to her Her Majesty’s Explorer: a Steampunk bedtime story NOW she wants to be a steampunk iron butterfly princess for Halloween. DO I LOOK CRAFTY TO YOU?! No. No I do not. I can’t even operate a bedazzler and I was a dresser for a drag queen for years. I fail. Also, WTF is an iron butterfly princess? DOES IT TRAVEL BY AIRSHIP OR GEAR WINGS?!?! There are too many possibilities. 

In spite of the fact that I have unintentionally nerd herded the fuck out of my offspring. I am so proud of how much they both love the written word. My son has severe ADHD, so while he can read hours of comic books, he likes to “read” tons of audiobooks while, you know, acting them out–as you do. My daughter, however, can sit on my lap whilst I read to her, or listen to audiobooks for…well, until I’m really tired of doing every voice ever.

No one ever told me that having children would keep my vocal acting skills so fresh. BONUS!

I’ll admit, the voices do vivify the activity of reading, but the real joy is in the moment of togetherness.

Children are made readers on the laps of their parents

Harvard, Yale, Brown, Colgate, and Columbia Teacher’s College have all done studies about the importance of cultivating a love of reading early on in life. Children who read and are read to perform better in the classroom, on tests, and as far into the future as their professional careers. It’s essential to grow a love of reading in children, so that the joy continues when it’s not always fun. (Like when your English teacher assigns Ulysses because he hates you…and life…puppies…rainbows…happiness.)

How did I do it?

Top 5 Ways to Raise a Reader. (1)

  1. Access, Access, Access. 

    I get it. Hardcover books are $$$. Board books are $$$. I get that. But access to books is crucial. There are some GREAT resources for inexpensive or free books on the net and locally. Thriftbooks.com is probably my favorite. You can buy books in groups for pennies. Local used bookshops are also a great, and fun resource. Strangely enough, stoop sales and yard sales have rewarded me with some of the best finds I’ve read, and by authors I’d never heard of. Never discount library sales!! The books are often equipped with library binding, and that is nothing to sneeze at. *Not to mention just taking stacks out on loan.* Scribd, a monthly service, and Kindle free time also have hundreds of thousands of children’s ebooks available.

  2. Model the behavior yourself. 

    It’s hard to raise a reader if you’re not a reader. I always tell people that if you think you aren’t a reader, that just means you haven’t found the right book. I will always be grateful to my family for not only getting me to the library and bookstore, but for being readers themselves. My MawMaw had a basket of books beside her sitting chair–always. The beach is a place I remember watching my family hang out under the umbrella reading until dusk. The Plain Dealer was delivered at 5am every day. Children of readers read.

  3. Talk to your children about their books. 

    This not only reinforces the lessons learned in the books, and their comprehension of them, it also serves to stir up excitement over their next read.

  4. Take them to the library. 

    This may seem obvious, but I’m not just talking about going to check books out. Most libraries have reading groups, activities surrounding literature, movies, etc. They’re a great resource.

  5. Create a routine. 

    Which, contrary to popular belief, does not have to be at bedtime. My kids will PESTER THE EVER LOVING EFF OUT OF ME if I agree to read before bed. One book becomes eleventy. We read right before lunch or just after school. It’s a nice way to kick back, relax, get some serious snuggling, and learn. I cannot overstate the snuggling. My seven year old is growing out of it, so I have to squeeze in all the snuggles I can.

Most importantly, don’t make it stressful or punitive. It’s not “if you don’t behave, you’ll turn off YouTube and READ!!” That’s never going to work. Reading needs to be a choice and a gift.

Now, what recipe could possibly go with this?

One my kids chose, of course.

Their favorite.

Vegan No-Churn Coffee Ice Cream

Vegan No-Churn Coffee Ice Cream


Top 5 Ways to Raise a Reader and Vegan No-Churn Coffee Ice Cream. #amreading #vegan #plantbased…

Click To Tweet


Vegan No-Churn Coffee Ice Cream Vegan No-Churn Coffee Ice Cream Vegan No-Churn Coffee Ice Cream

Vegan No-Churn Chocolate Ice Cream

by Cat Bowen

Prep Time: 25 minutes

Cook Time: freeze overnight

Keywords: vegan ice-cream

// <![CDATA[
document.write('’);
// ]]>

Ingredients

  • the cream from two cans of coconut cream with no additives
  • 3 cups unsweetened cashew milk
  • 4 tbsp instant espresso
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup brown sugar

Instructions

heat the milk and cream on medium a stove until just starting to simmer

whisk in espresso and sugar until dissolved

add salt and vanilla

pour into a 2 quart container and freeze overnight.

Powered by Recipage

Reader Eater

Leave a Reply

