All That Glitters is Gibbons

Breakfast to Bed

When I began blogging, I had gurlpages. Do you remember that? If you’re under 27, I guarantee you do not. It was like Angelfire, but with 100% more glitter gifs.

por ejemplo…

I loved my little blog there. It was super emo. I was a teen girl with severe anxiety, hardcore depression, and a fierce need to fit in…somewhere. I wrote poetry, bitched about transitioning from a fundamentalist Christian school in the most dangerous city in Ohio, to a Mennonite school in Amish Country, Ohio, where I knew no one, and hated every minute.

(Aside: there is no help for the Fundie school. I mean, if Marilyn Manson devotes a significant portion of his autobio to its destruction of his confidence….?? It is probably still absolutely awful. However, I think, had I started at the peace-loving Mennonite school, I could’ve really enjoyed it. There were even gay students!!GASP!!)

Later, I blogged on Typepad and Blogspot, always looking for my little place to write. Then, when I was pregnant with the Peanut, I started Breakfast to Bed. It was a mess. I had no direction. It took me years to become comfortable with focusing on my life/fitness/books all while sharing my food. In the beginning? GAH! I wish the internet would swallow those posts and take them to the internet subspace on the superhighway. Like Tron, or The Matrix or whatever that weird 90’s movie with Keanu-as-automaton was. The posts should go there.

However, along with the time of B2B’s incunabulum, I met some really awesome bloggers. TaraStephanie and I all had babies around the same time. We met on twitter, and quickly became friends. One day, Stephanie says to me “You’ve GOT to read Brittany’s blog–you’ll love her.” So I read it. And I did. I really did.

I ended up following her on Twitter, and GAH! She followed back! That was huge for me.

I started reading her archives, and had her blog bookmarked in my feedburner RSS feed.

She writes about topics that few bloggers dare to discuss. Masturbation, the sometimes tiresome life of a mother, money problems, self-esteem, the “bed death” that most marriages go through at some point. She makes no apologies, and must have a lady carriage made of pure brass, because that broad is BOLD.

Then, three years ago, she gave an amazing TED talk. Things seem to have really snowballed since then. You cannot blink without seeing her mentioned, or someone quoting her, or a link to her byline.

Most recently, she wrote a book. A very good book.

I know, I know. OMGSOMANY bloggers have written books at this point. Some are awesome, some aren’t. I feel like, many times, the voice of the blogger is somehow lost in the medium. It no longer feels as if they wrote the book. Fat Girl Walking reads just like a selection of BrittanyHerself.com‘s juiciest and most incredibly intimate posts.

It’s as if Brittany Gibbons opens her soul, and just sprays each and every page with the sparkling residue of herself. She tells stories about her grandmother, her college life, her bankruptcy, her determination to succeed afterward. It’s harrowing and uplifting.

Fat Girl Walking

She puts it all out there. Everything.

She’s never afraid to tell the stories, even those of her sometimes irrational behavior. She accepts this part of her as it is just that–a part of her. It’s not what defines her, but what makes her human. Sometimes we all act like lunatics, because we are all a *little* crazy. Fat Girl Walking is told with such unabashed bravery that it compels the reader to take a step back from their own lives, and question where it is in that life they need to show a little more mettle.

middle finger

Brittany Gibbons is a brilliant writer with an aptitude for storytelling that will no doubt continue to evolve and flourish throughout her career. I have every confidence that Brittany Gibbons’s work will quoted and studied alongside those such as Nora Ephron, Joan Didion, and Patricia Volk.

Fat Girl Walking: Sex, Food, Love, and Being Comfortable in Your Skin, Every Inch of It,

Four and a half sparkling soul stars.

So? What recipe could possibly go with such a book? Well, Brittany Gibbons is from my land of Ohio, and as such deserves a popular Ohio “salad.” And I veganized it because I can. It has been verified by non-vegans to taste as good OR BETTER than the original.

I give you…

Vegan Strawberry Pretzel Jello Salad. It’s a salad because we say so.

Vegan Strawberry Pretzel Jello Salad


Midwest is Best. rvw of Fat Girl Walking by @BrittanyHerself and Strawberry Pretzel Jello Salad.…

Click To Tweet


Vegan Strawberry Pretzel Jello Salad

Vegan Strawberry Pretzel Jello Salad

by Cat Bowen

Prep Time: 10-15 minutes, more if you don

Cook Time: 15 minutes plus 2 hours in fri

Keywords: side appetizer dessert vegan

// <![CDATA[
document.write('’);
// ]]>

Ingredients (16 bars)

    for the strawberry jel fililng

    for the whipped cream

    • You can ABSOLUTELY use 1 8oz package vegan cream cheese (tofutti), softened and and whipped with 4-6 oz coconut cream and 1 cup confectioners sugar, whipped together until smooth, however, I used coconut whipped cream.
    • the separated fat of 3 cans of full fat coconut milk
    • 1 cup confectioner’s sugar
    • 2.5 ml or 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

    for the pretzel bottom

    • 2 cups crushed pretzels
    • 1/4 cup melted coconut butter

    Instructions

    Preheat oven to 400F

    stir together coconut butter and pretzels and press into the bottom of a 9″ or 10″ square pan

    bake 8-10 minutes or until you can smell them toast and they’re a darker brown

    remove from oven and cool completely

    boil together the juice and water and stir in the jel.

    stir in strawberries.

    pour over crust evenly

    let cool in fridge completely

    if you are making the cream cheese topping, whip the ingredients together on high until fluffy and spreadable–may take more coconut milk. ONLY USE A SOY CREAM CHEESE. It doesn’t break like the others.

    If you are making the coconut cream whipped cream follow these instructions

    top the jel with the cream

    chill in the freezer for fifteen minutes

    slice and serve.

    Powered by Recipage

    Breakfast to Bed

    Leave a Reply

    